School board appreciation week


Lafayette, TN – Governor Haslam has declared Jan. 22-28, 2017 as School Board Appreciation Week In Tennessee. This week helps build awareness and understanding of the vital functions our locally elected boards of education play in our community. Macon County is joining public school districts from across the state to celebrate School Board Appreciation Week and honor local board members for their commitment to Macon County and its children.

“Our school system is the backbone of our community, and these men and women devote countless hours to make sure our schools are helping every child,” Director Boles said. “There is no greater honor that can be bestowed upon a citizen than membership on a local board of education. They spend countless hours studying the issues and regulations and make the tough decisions when called upon to ensure the type of accountability people expect.”

Director Boles said the key work of school boards is to raise student achievement by:

Creating a vision for what the community wants the school district to be and for making student achievement the top priority;

Establishing standards for what students will be expected to learn and be able to do;

Ensuring progress is measured to be sure the district’s goals are achieved and students are learning at expected levels;

Being accountable for their decisions and actions by continually tracking and reporting results;

Creating a safe, orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach;

Forming partnerships with others in the community to solve common problems; and

Focusing attention on the need for continuous improvement by questioning, refining and revising issues related to student achievement.

“Our local school board shapes the future of education in Macon County by influencing the high-quality of education that our children and youth receive. The Macon County school board shows its commitment to educational excellence and equity – and for that we are very grateful for their attitude of service.”

The Members serving our district are as follows: Jimmy Cook, Jeff Harper, Wayne Marsh, Bryan Nichols, and Rebekah Tuttle.


comments powered by Disqus