Craig Harris/Macon County Times Jarvis Hagan leaves the voting precinct at Lafayette’s Valley Ridge Building after voting.

Craig Harris/Macon County Times

Jarvis Hagan leaves the voting precinct at Lafayette’s Valley Ridge Building after voting.

Butch Avera will get another opportunity to run for Macon County Sheriff after he won the Republican primary on May 1.

Avera garnered 215 votes more than opponent Mark Brawner.

"I had people telling me that they thought it would be a wide margin," Avera said. "I told them, just based on what I was seeing and hearing, I was pretty confident it would be around the 200 (votes) mark.

"It could have went either way. We had a fairly low turnout. If 1,500 would have come out and voted, it could have gone the other way."

Less than 900 votes were cast in the sheriff's race on election day, though more than 2,900 votes were received during the early-voting period.

"It definitely paid off," Avera said of his campaigning efforts. "Not only were we doing a grass-roots campaign, but we were going door to door. I called almost 120 people (the day before the election) that I knew hadn't went and voted. We called people to keep them fired up and get them to go vote.

"We've been working it hard. It's a little bigger turnout than in 2014."

Of the registered voters in Macon County, 33 percent turned out for the primary. In comparison to the 2014 primary, there were 397 more individuals who voted, with early voting showing an increase of more than 600 individuals in comparison to 2014.

However, only 941 individuals turned out on election day last week, compared to 1,186 in 2014.

Avera also won the Republican primary in 2014 before he lost to Mark Gammons by 273 votes in the general election.

Gammons will be seeking a fourth term as the Macon County Sheriff in August's general election.

"I'm excited," the 59-year-old Avera said on election night. "If I go to sleep tonight, it will be a miracle. We are already in the planning stages for the next go-around, looking at areas where we might have been a little weak.

"I'd like to say a big thank you to everyone who worked hard on this campaign. I ran on the Republican party, but we had people on this campaign who were Democrats and Independents. We had a diversified group of folks who came out and helped us win this. They're a bunch who wants to see change here in Macon County. I couldn't have done it by myself … and I'm a firm believer in the power of prayer, and we requested folks to start praying for us about 6:55 tonight."

Macon County Mayor Steve Jones and Macon County Circuit Court Clerk Rick Gann are running unopposed, and each received more than 3,300 votes. Jones will be entering his second term, while it will be Gann's fourth.

Dakota Dyer is running for Macon County Clerk, and he was unopposed in the Republican primary, receiving 2,467 votes. He'll be running against Connie Blackwell in the general election. Blackwell is seeking a second term.

All of the county commissioners who were involved in the Republican primary will move on to the general election. Each district is represented by two commissioners, and there are two individuals from each district who qualify for the general election based on the primary results. However, no district had more than two candidates in the Republican primary, allowing all of the candidates to move on.

There were no individuals who declared for the Democratic primary in Macon County.

The office of constable and the school board members are non-partisan. Therefore, they will not be voted upon until the general election.

Each of the five constable qualifiers will be unopposed on the ballot. Those individuals include Sammy Morgan (District 1 and 2), Tom Dallas (District 3 and 4), John David (District 5 and 6), Tony Law (District 7 and 8), and Corey Lawrence (District 9 and 10). Morgan, Dallas and Law are currently fulfilling four-year terms as constables.

On two of the five school board positions are being elected this year. Five individuals - Jed Goad, Jeff Roark, Jason Bohanan, Tony Brooks and William Dycus - turned in qualifying paperwork to serve as the school board representative for District 1 and 2, while Brett Gentry and Andy Shrum are seeking to become the school board representative for District 3 and 4 as Wayne Marsh seeks to be reelected to that position.

The other three school board spots will be elected in 2020, along with the Macon County Director of Schools.

Early voting for the general election begins on July 3, and election day is Aug. 2.

Macon County Republican Primary

County Mayor

* Steve Jones|3,324 votes


William Butch Avera|2,026

Mark Brawner|1,811

Circuit Court Clerk

* Rick Gann|3,309

County Clerk

Dakota Dyer|2,467

Register of Deeds

* Cynthia Jones|2,296

Sherry Brawner Tucker|1,441


Kim Bohanan-Parks|1,822

Derrick Dickens|1,027

Crystal Swindle|972

County Commissioners

District 1

* Phillip Snow|265

District 2

* Mike Jenkins|354

* Scott Gammons|229

District 3

No qualifiers for Republican primary

District 4

* Mchelle Phillips|290

* Justin Dyer|283

District 5

No qualifiers for Republican primary

District 6

Michael Slayton|142

Stephanie Lamb|92

District 7

James Lamb|241

District 8

Duane Knoblett|269

District 9

* Wendell T. Jones|315

District 10

* Helen Hesson|240

Lafayette City Council

Jerry Wilmore|456

Seth A. Blankenship|364

* Steve Turner|348

Tom Roberts|257

Tim Wooten|252

* Jerry Wix|240

* incumbent